Tory Johnson’s Spark & Hustle Conference

This past Saturday, I was able to spend the day with Tory Johnson, ABC Good Morning America workplace contributor and female entrepreneur extraordinaire, and the amazing women (and men!) of the Boston Spark & Hustle conference.  As the Q&A Keynote on Saturday morning, I was able to share some of my experience as the founder of Styleta and Gym-Pact.  I was pretty nervous the night before, since it was my first time being a conference keynote, but Tory was amazing at guiding me with the questions.  The audience questions were also fun to answer and gave me some great ideas for both startups!

I stayed the rest of the day to listen to the other speakers and definitely learned a ton.  Here are some great tips I learned.

From Dan Schawbel, personal branding guru:

  • Update those online profiles – yes I mean Facebook too!  I’ve seen plenty of FB profiles of recent grads that still seem to say they are students.  For me, I definitely need to do some work on my FB and LinkedIn.
  • Leverage small successes to get bigger ones, especially in media features.  Got covered or wrote for a local newspaper?  Put it in your bio and keep adding to it.  I’m going to update by bio to include media mentions!
  • What to read: Mashable and ReadWriteWeb
From Christina Perkett on media:
  • Have 3 soundbites rehearsed that you must share with reporter no matter what questions they ask.  Good advice that I wish I had heard before my interviews!
  • PitchEngine – social press releases
  • Always say thank you to the reporter, and offer additional content to build the relationship
  • People have different preferred communication methods – if they’re not responding to emails or calls, try Twitter, FB or texting.
From Vicki Donlan on turning contacts to cash:
  • Break that mental barrier between personal and business contacts, and don’t be afraid of telling people what you do for a living!
  • Become an expert, the go-to person on a specific topic
  • Listen for people’s needs and give before you get
Got other tips?  I’d love to hear them!

Leave a Reply

